HomeNews1st Annual Cleo Murphy Celebrity Basketball Classic

1st Annual Cleo Murphy Celebrity Basketball Classic

The 1st Annual Cleo Murphy Celebrity Basketball Classic benefiting the Tyler Type One Diabetes Foundation took place July 18 in the Wagstaff Gymnasium. The event was put together by Demario Murphy to honor his late father, Cleo, who passed away from diabetes and to bring an awareness to the disease.

“We all have family members suffering from it,” said Murphy in an interview with CBS 19, “so we just wanted to do something to bring it back to tyler and get something going annually here that can bring something positive to the city.”

Guest included former TJC Apache Jimmy Butler (Chicago Bulls), Brandon Pettigrew (Detroit Lions), Donald Sloan (Indiana Pacers), Jermichael Finley (GreenBay Packers) , Terrence Murphy (Former GreenBay Packer),
Michael Montgomery (Former GreenBay Packer), Marcus Jackson Jr. (Former Atlanta Falcon),
Johnny Jolly (Former GreenBay Packer), Matthew Tucker (Philadelphia Eagles),
Pat Mahomes Sr. (Former Minnesota Twin), Tommy Mitchell (Former Golden State Warrior),
Damion James (Former New Jersey Net), Isaiah “JR” Ryder (Former NBA Champion Los Angeles Laker),
Josh Powell (Houston Rockets), A’Quoneisha Franklin (Former Sacramento Monarch),
Haley Eckerman (GS Caltex KIXX Korean Volleyball League), and others.

[metaslider id=2855409]

Previous article
Next article

Most Popular